Leland L. Smith


Secretary of State
In office
Dec 1, 1950 to Dec 1, 1952

Party: Republican
Assumed: General Election
Left: Did Not Run
Leland L. Smith spent 2 years, 1 day in office in Indiana, all of it at the state level.


1950–Secretary of State WON
General Election–Tuesday, November 7, 1950
Leland L. Smith*, Republican, 846,783 votes
Charles Francis Fleming (i), Democratic, 722,466 votes
J. Ralston Miller, Prohibition, 13,138 votes
Out of 1,582,387 votes casts, the margin of victory was 124,317 (7.85%)
In the 1 races for which we have results, Leland L. Smith had a record of 1-0. That includes a record of 1-0 in 1 general election.