David Russell Bontrager

Notable Facts

  • Served as Senate President Pro Tempore in the 93rd General Assembly (1962-1964)


Indiana Senate
Elkhart County
In office
Nov 3, 1948 to Nov 4, 1964

Party: Republican
Assumed: General Election
Left: Ran For Other Office
David Russell Bontrager spent 16 years, 5 days in office in Indiana, all of it at the state level.


1964–U.S. Senate (Class 1) LOST
General Election–Tuesday, November 3, 1964
R. Vance Hartke (i)*, Democratic, 1,128,505 votes
David Russell Bontrager, Republican, 941,519 votes
J. Ralston Miller, Prohibition, 5,708 votes
Casimer Kanczuzewski, Socialist Labor, 1,231 votes
Out of 2,076,963 votes casts, the margin of victory was 186,986 (9.00%)
In the 1 races for which we have results, David Russell Bontrager had a record of 0-1. That includes a record of 0-1 in 1 general election.