Thomas R. Marshall

Notable Facts

  • Served as Vice President of the United States (Under President Woodrow Wilson) from 1913-1921


In office
Jan 11, 1909 to Jan 13, 1913

Party: Democratic
Assumed: General Election
Left: Term Limited
Thomas R. Marshall spent 4 years, 3 days in office in Indiana, all of it at the state level.


1908–Governor WON
General Election–Tuesday, November 3, 1908
Thomas R. Marshall*, Democratic, 348,849 votes
James E. Watson, Republican, 334,040 votes
Sumner W. Haynes, Prohibition, 15,926 votes
Frank S. Goodman, Socialist, 11,948 votes
Frederick J. S. Robinson, People's (Populist), 986 votes
Oliver P. Stoner, Socialist Labor, 573 votes
James M. Zion, Independence, 383 votes
Out of 712,705 votes casts, the margin of victory was 14,809 (2.08%)
In the 1 races for which we have results, Thomas R. Marshall had a record of 1-0. That includes a record of 1-0 in 1 general election.