Charles M. Dawson

Notable Facts

  • Served as Presiding Officer, Lt. Governor in the 82nd General Assembly (1940-1942)
  • Served as Presiding Officer, Lt. Governor in the 83rd General Assembly (1942-1944)


Lieutenant Governor
In office
Jan 13, 1941 to Jan 8, 1945

Party: Republican
Assumed: General Election
Left: Did Not Run
Charles M. Dawson spent 3 years, 11 months, 26 days in office in Indiana, all of it at the state level.


1940–Lieutenant Governor WON
General Election–Tuesday, November 5, 1940
Charles M. Dawson*, Republican, 881,684 votes
Carrie Anderson Ketchum, Democratic, 871,922 votes
Harry Peacock, Prohibition, 4,832 votes
Eugene R. Cole, Socialist, 1,496 votes
Louis Branson Roebuck, Socialist Labor, 644 votes
Out of 1,760,578 votes casts, the margin of victory was 9,762 (0.56%)
In the 1 races for which we have results, Charles M. Dawson had a record of 1-0. That includes a record of 1-0 in 1 general election.