Mary Jean Miller Pettersen


Indiana House
District 1
In office
Nov 8, 1978 to Nov 3, 1982

Party: Democratic
Assumed: General Election
Left: Redistricting
District 11
In office
Nov 3, 1982 to Nov 5, 1986

Party: Democratic
Assumed: General Election
Left: Lost Renomination Bid
Mary Jean Miller Pettersen spent 7 years, 11 months, 29 days in office in Indiana, all of it at the state level.


1988–Secretary of Education (State Supt.) LOST
General Election–Tuesday, November 8, 1988
H. Dean Evans (i)*, Republican, 1,078,897 votes
Mary Jean Miller Pettersen, Democratic, 957,578 votes
Out of 2,036,475 votes casts, the margin of victory was 121,319 (5.96%)
In the 1 races for which we have results, Mary Jean Miller Pettersen had a record of 0-1. That includes a record of 0-1 in 1 general election.